Monastery National School Ardee

Go to content

Main menu:


Sport > GAA

2012 Under 11 and Under 13 Gaelic Footballers of the Year

Under 11 Gaelic Footballer of 2012
Under 13 Gaelic Footballer 2012

Under 13 Corn Blian Mhuire - Urban Schools

In the first round in early May we defeated CBS NS Dundalk and in the semi-final we defeated De La Salle Dundalk.

We then faced St Mary's BNS Drogheda on Saturday, June 9th in Darver.


Monastery NS 3-16 St Mary's BNS, Drogheda 2-4

The Allianz Cumann na mBunscol Final of the Corn Bhlian Mhuire for urban schools was played between Monastery NS, Ardee and St Mary’s BNS, Drogheda in Darver on Saturday, June 9. These two teams met in a close thriller in the final of the Corn Mhic Ardail last November with St Mary’s winning out by a point.

In a keenly contested first half Monastery NS conceded a goal in the first five minutes but by 15 minutes had pulled level with St Mary’s thanks to some great scores taken by Tom Jackson and Johnathan Commins. The midfield of Conor Gillespie and Aurimas Bernotas had the upper hand and were well supplied by goalkeeper Alan McGauley’s long kick outs. By the time the half time whistle blew Monastery NS lead by five points.

At the beginning of the second half Monastery NS tagged on another goal. Conor Watters was proving to be a handful for the St Mary’s full back line. But St Mary’s rallied in the middle of this half and scored two more goals to try to get back into the game. However at this stage of the game Monastery NS midfield began to dominate again and backs Donal McKenny, Liam Jackson, Cian Smyth and Liam Devitt were giving nothing away.

The game finished and Monastery NS celebrated their first win in this competition since its inception in 1998. The team was managed by teachers Mr Dermot McCreanor and Ms Leanna Cusack.

The Monastery NS team was; Alan McGauley, Liam Devitt, Cian Smyth, Darragh McCoy, Cian Taaffe, Liam Jackson, Donal McKenny, Aurimas Bernotas, Conor Gillespie (Captain), Joe Mulholland, Andrew Bingham, Johnathan Commins, Gavin Kirk, Conor Watters, Tom Jackson. Eddie Bing Quan Ooi, James Reilly, Carl Gillespie, Evan McKenna, Kyle Callan-Durnin, James McDonald (injured).


GAA "Go Games Blitz"

Our school under 12 Go Games Gaelic team qualified for the county finals in April. In the Grove in Castlebellingham we defeated Kilcurry NS and Louth NS but lost narrowly to Collon.
We were runners up to Collon NS in the overall result - well done boys.

Home | About Us | Parents | Payments | Activities | Gallery | Curriculum | Sport | Site Map

Back to content | Back to main menu